What’s up with the market…talent market that is…!

Have I ever told you how much I love my job! I am sure I have at one stage but at present I am feeling overwhelmed, excited, energised and a little bewildered? Overwhelmed and excited that I am working with great talent; talent that are so open to their own leadership effectiveness and also the effectiveness of their teams! I am getting through…yippie!

But…there is a but. I am bewildered. Did you notice I wrote that word in the second sentence? I have so many leaders asking me for advice on how to find talent as well as assisting them in finding talent. I am more than happy to help as I love helping my clients find great talent – and in turn I love talent finding fantastic new opportunities! Yes it is still a talent war but yes another but how do I get through to my clients; leaders in the industry that it is not only about finding them, but keeping them warm and engaged throughout the process.  I hear from so many candidates who are disillusioned by the recruitment process. I would have to say, I can’t blame them! Not only is it about being creative and strategic in your sourcing channels, but being present and active in your candidate care.

I met a Human Resources Leader about recruitment last week who is looking for people for a major project in central Queensland, like most of my clients. And how refreshing that she said, I promise to get back to you and I am available for you to call anytime for feedback or next steps.  Yes I nearly fell over with excitement! Do you know how many of my clients who I work for in trying to help them find this most valuable resource for them and they don’t even return my calls? Hey I know we are busy, but if you are not getting back to your partner in recruitment, will you give them same treatment to my candidates? Hey I am no angel and I am first to admit that I also need to treat my candidates better…and I am really busy at times as well. And if I think about what I preach around emotional intelligence, I do forget that I have been in their shoes where I have applied for roles and even through the interview stage and I have been treated poorly. I do apologise to those candidates now who might be reading my blog. I am truly sorry for not getting back to you – or not keeping you in the loop in a timely manner.

And hey we all do it! But why? Let’s be more aware and proactive about it. And accountable…I really like this recent article about GlaxoSmithKline – a leader in the recruitment candidate care ethos. Some great insight how others are doing it – and doing it well. And holding everyone involved in the recruitment process accountable.

I am now going to challenge myself and get back to all my candidates. Or at least give them some form of communication. Will you take on the challenge! I know you want to…

GlaxoSmithKline Article from HRManagement US

Leave a Reply

